Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

"Anyone can learn anything" - This is a famous quote by Salman Khan who is the founder of Khan Academy which is the world's largest online education system. I disagree with the statement that educational institutes have a responsibility to prohibit students from pursuing their passion. I strongly believe that anyone can excel in any field of study if they are really interested in it.

All the external factors in which a person has grown up may play a major role in his interests. No educational institute have an ability to know the interests or real passion of any student more than the student himself. Once he reaches maturity he himself should be able to decide what is right for him and what is wrong.

But, the big question here is "What if the student is unable to decide what is right for him?". Here the role of educational institutes or parents come into picture. These institutes should concentrate on building up maturity and decision making ability into students through workshops and guest lectures instead of dissuading students from pursing any field of interest.

Though dissuading students from pursuing a field of study based on their performance in that field seems perfect, it isn't. Often we can't judge students solely based on performance in studies. Even Albert Einstein was removed out of his school due to his weak performance in studies, but today his is widely worshipped for his intelligence in science.

Because of the above factors I strongly believe that dissuading students from pursuing their field of study by educational institutes impairs the lives of students and will have negative effect on the society.