Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

At first glance, the conclusion says that the government should provide cities financial support in order to develop on the basis that cities contain the nation's cultural traditions but actually the nation's traditions are preserved and generated from rural areas and villages. For example, people in villages celebrate in a unique and original way of festivals.

To begin with, the claim that governments need to give financial support for the development and prosper but the reasoning is given is not related to the claim, the claim and the reason are individually true but the reasoning is inappropriate the financial support is needed for all the major cities as the population is more and development cities may increase the development of the nation.

In contrast, the nation's cultural traditions are not generated and preserved in the cities rather there are found more in rural areas and villages. For example, in India, cities have become modernized and people are busy with their lives, interaction with others became less and traditions are not much followed whereas people in rural areas are the interaction within themselves still exists and people follow all traditions and are still preserved, for example, celebrating festivals in the original traditions is found in villages only but not in cities.

To sum it up, cities need financial support from the government for the development because, for the more population and lack of facilities that are cities, it is important for nation's development but not because those cities generated and preserved the cultural traditions which are done by the villages.