The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The editorial from the central plaza owner infers that the plaza will be returned to their previously high levels by prohibiting the skateboarding in it. But this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not strong enough to lead to the conclusion given by plaza’s owner.

First of all, before accusing the skateboarding for decreasing the sale of other shops, the reason behind its popularity must be known. What if it is the only club in that area? Or what if it is the most affordable one from the whole plaza? Or maybe it provides many more amenities to its customers to their costs(fees). For example, may be to achieve more sales, the owner (of skateboarding) releases some new methods, thereby gives a good amount of discount in various forms such as by a decrease in fees, by offering an extra month for training, or they may give free skateboards to the customers for training. So, if this is true, then it renders the author’s claim about prohibiting skateboarding.

Secondly, the writer blames the consumers of skateboarding for increase of waste in the plaza. But probably this assumption is wrong because of some reasons below. The argument does not prove the writer’s assumption right. Because what if the shopkeepers of the plaza are irresponsible from their duties towards environment? Or what if there are no dustbins to throw any garbage? As a citizen, it is their duty to keep their places neat and clean. Now talking about the vandalization, it is not necessary that it would be done by skateboarder’s customers. There are possibilities that defacement is done by others. It may be done by any stray animals. So, either of this scenarios have merit, then conclusion fall down.

And lastly, the argument stated that the sales of others are diminished due to increasing demand of skating. However, what if the quality of other seller’s goods were deteriorated? Or may be their stores were not being easily reachable to the customers. For instance, the plaza has four floor and having only stairs, no elevator. Therefore some consumers having characteristics like old age, lack of time, or diseases(asthma, any problem related to heart/lungs) are unable to take stairs instead of the elevator. Consequently, their market falls.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and provides some more detailed information then it will be possible to accept the writer’s claim regarding prohibition of skateboarding to improve the market of the other venders.