Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Here, the author advocated that, moderate everyday exercise in the form of taking stairs instead of elevators, are required for citizens to increase their health as well as longevity. This statement is supported by several studies on different levels, like studying of apartments, or surveys taken by doctors. However, before accepting any claims, some questions must be answered.

First of all, study undertaken is fully reliable? Is it sample's are trustworthy? What if the people who are involved in study as a sample, are rather of a young age? For example, the people who lived in the apartment only with the stairs are on an average younger than the individuals having stairs as well as escalators. If this is the case, than it is obvious that the survey is unreliable. What if the residents from the apartment with staircase are free from any acute or chronic illnesses? On the other hand What if the half of the people with both facilities in their residents may suffer from incurable diseases? If either of these scenarioes has merit, than conclusion drawn in the argument will fall apart.

Moreover, focussing on the second study, which tells that the people, who are living with elevator in the apartment are visiting twice as per their counterpart. But this claim is baseless. For example, a person lived with both amenitis, but what if he or she might never utilizes the escalator and uses stairs? So, on this point, the assertation that the study shows are wrong.

There are some other questions weaken the claim of being healthy in terms of using stairs. Such as, What if the apartment, which is study for stairs were way too short(may be have only 2-3 floors)? Furthermore to enlightnning the third study, which is depends upon filling of questionaries. The residents from apartment having both (stairs & escalators), are illiterate? If this would be true than this people can fill the form, and may choose the wrong answers regarding their health? If above is true than the argument do not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions, then it will be possible to accept the author's claim about health and longevity of an individuals, mostly relying on the presence of stairs in their apartment.