The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The owner of Movies Galore in this memorandum suggests reducing operating expenses. To achieve this he suggests reducing operating hours and stopping selling DVD published before five years. To strengthen his arguments, he cites example of Downtown Marston store. In my opinion the arguments presented by the owner are weak and unconvincing.

First of all, the owner of Movies Galore doesn't mentions from how long the decline in profits has been measured. Maybe, the decline has just seen in very small period of time. The overall pattern of profits and losses has to be provided to bring further analysis. Unless and until, such data is collected and studied, we cannot jump to any results.

Secondly, the idea of reducing operating hours looks really dubious. The owner cites example of Downtown Marston. But, he fails to mention its relations with other stores. We cannot surly accept that one change that worked at some random place, will be same effective at all other places. Many factors including area, overall income in respected region, time period and taste of particular region defines overall sales.

Thirdly, the idea of reducing operating hours can be counterproductive as well. First of all, Movies Galore should collect data about at what time how much products are sold. Because, some of the costumers may only get time to visit the store after office hours. Maybe, some consumers are not free at day time; the reduction of overall opening time will yield in loosing these valuable consumers.

Fourthly, the owner talks about blocking sales of old DVD, which sounds really fatuous. The owner should first gather enough data about the age groups, gender and tastes of different consumers. Maybe, some costumers love cult classics and some of them are more interested in old stereotyped movies. Another point of owner that not many consumers have complained is another weak argument. It can be simply because of all other unsatisfied consumers shifted to the new DVD store or are not willing to complain here.

In sum, the idea of reducing operating hours and stop stocking old DVD is not at all convincing. The owner should bring more satisfactory allusions to strengthen his arguments. Some of the arguments provided by the owner are quite silly and unaccountable. Once, the store starts collecting diverse inputs from their regular consumer and find actual results, just after that any decision can be taken.