The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

In this memo, the vice president of the company claims that the company has to contract with the construction company Alpha rather than, Zeta for the new building. To support her argument, she compares one building which was constructed by Alpha with another building which was constructed by Zeta. The building which was constructed by Zeta was more price than by Alpha and the energy consumption of building which was constructed by Zeta have more increased every year. Also, she added a fact that the Alpha’s employees are more loyal to their company. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the energy consumption of the building constructed by Zeta is higher than by Alpha, the author assumes that the cause of the higher cost for electricity is the difference in the ability of two construction company. However, there could other reasons. For example, employees who worked in Zeta’s building used more electricity for some reasons. Or, the fee for electricity in the region, where Zeta’s building is, is higher than in other regions.

Until she gives us specific data about the main reason for the higher fee of Zeta’s building, this argument is not persuasive.

Secondly, based on the fact the cost for maintenance of Zeta’s building is twice of the building constructed by Alpha last year, she hastily assumes that this tendency will maintain in the future or is a common case. However, there are no such guarantees. In that, at the year, the building constructed by Zeta could be damaged by natural disasters or suddenly need some repairs. If these are true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Finally, even if we admit that these problems came from the difference of ability of two company, this argument includes another wrong reasoning. The author hastily assumes that the ability of two company has not changed as time has passed. Common sense tells us that a company’s ability can increase or decrease. If Zeta has overtaken Alpha, or even, been superior to it, it is improper to work with Alpha. If she cannot explain why she thinks the Zeta is inferior to Alpha, this argument is still not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more reasonable, the vise president of the company has to show the exact reason of discrepancy of energy consumption and has to explain why she thinks the last year’s cost for maintenance is not a unique case. To evaluate better, we have to know the present ability of two companies, Alpha and Zeta.