"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

In this argument, the author of this article claims that the company is better to contract with the zeta company for their new building project. To justify her argument, she says that the building which is constructed by the zeta company needed lower expense for maintenance last year than the alpha company's and energy consumption of the zeta's building has been lower than the alpha's for ten years. also she says that there are little employee turnovers in zeta company. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, citing that the maintenance fee of the building which was constructed by the zeta company is lower than the alpha's, she hastily assumes that although the cost for construction of zeta company is higher than alpha, contracting with zeta company is cost-saving. However, it might not be true. For example, the overall cost which includes maintenance fee and building cost of the building which zeta constructed could be higher than alpha's. if it is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

even if we admit the building constructed by the zeta company is more efficient, there is another wrong assumption. The fact that there is little turnover in zeta company is not relevant to how a company

can implement its job more fast and efficiently. Until she explains to us why she thinks the number of employees turnover can be an indicator of that a company's capacity, this argument is not cogent.

Finally, even if we admit other presumptions are not problematic, there is another problem. she wrongly assumes that the ability of zeta and alpha may be the same or similar, compared with ten years ago. Common sense tells us that ability of a company is not stable and it could be changed in so-called "fast-moving society". also the alpha's ability to construct building could be better than zeta's now. if she cannot explain why she thinks the two corporations' ability is the same as before, this argument has no ground.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to show us financial data about the total cost of two different buildings for 10 years and also have to explain the number of employee turnover can be related to cost saving. To rate this argument better, we must know that the zeta and alpha company's difference in ability is the same as ten years ago.