47. The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental store claims that the company should reduce its operating time and reduce the amount of its overall inventory to raise profit. To support her argument, she refers the store in Marston which reduce its operating time and the number of DVDs in the store. At there, only a few customers complaints about these new policies. Carefully scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, She thinks that little complaints from customers of the store in Marston downtown 'really' means most of the customers satisfied. Common sense tells us that people tend not to forthrightly express their feelings for social manner. And, even If customers usually satisfied with the policies, this satisfaction will not persist. If she does not know 'real' responses of the customer occurring after conducting the policies, this argument is problematic

Secondly, she hastily assumes that the store in Marston downtown could represent all branches of Movies Galore. If there are customers who satisfied with the polices in Marston downtown, this fact does not guarantee that all customers of the company will favor the policies. For example, in one town, its residents have jobs whose quitting time is later than 6 p.m... In this town, because people cannot use the store at all, the profit will decrease. If this is true, this argument is still problematic.

Thirdly, IF we admit that other problems are true, there is another critical problem. she refers irrelevant case with raising profit. little 'expressed' dissatisfaction could not mean that the company could earn more money by conducting these policies. And she does not show the result of the policies in terms of profit. Until she provides us with specific data which indicate that the policies are followed by the raising of profit, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

In conclusion, this memorandum is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more cogent, the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores have to explain why she thinks the store of Marston downtown can typify all store nationwide and have to know 'actual' response of the customer in Marston downtown. To evaluate better we have to know the relevance between the degree of complaints of customers in the store of Marston downtown and improvement of profit