The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Stating that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women the society chooses as its heroes or its role models, this view asserts that character of a society's heroes is important indicator of our society's character. In some senses, socially accepted people tend to have the characters which most of composer of the society want to resemble and like. In my point, however, the characters of role-models could not always show a society's values.

Of course, few would disagree that respected people have socially pervasive trait. People tend to like persons whether he or she is real or virtual, because the person do things that common people want to do but can't do. For example, in US, comic book's heroes such Super man, Captain America, Bat man have been very popular. They did good behaviors in comic books which resist against evil villain, war, Communism, or even the governments. Most popular characters also have been change d as time pass, following social issues which the public have interested in. This implies that the socially popular characters or people reflect the public's point of view

Nonetheless, these persons would not actually mean the real interest of a country. These people do not follow socially pervasive values but could be fabricated by political intention. In human history, there are many examples that show politically made heroes for certain purpose of the politicians. To claim the war, the politicians made the victim who specious look killed by and enemy even genocide their own people. This shows that socially respected people are not actually representative of general people.

Moreover, the characters which so-called 'saint' have would only hope of a society, not actually it have. For example, although Mother Teresa who had helped poor people in India was praised and even called as saint, There are only few people who did really actions to help poor people around them or abroad. In this example, we can see that the characters they have in only hope for the public to want to have.

In conclusion, it is not deniable that our role-models partially reflects our values. However, considering tailored heroes in history and that there are few actions in response to their loyal activity, the character of heroes would not show the society's trait well.