The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president. (94)

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this recommendation, the vice president of human resources at Clemson Industries claims that, to raise the company's productivity, this company has to install software to detect employees' private using of company computers. To support her argument, She points out that there are people who spend work hours recreational activities shopping or playing games. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument have several logical flaws.

First, the vice president hastily assumes that most effective means to improve productivity is preventing time of workers from wasting time. Common sense tells us that there are many factors which affect workers' productivity. For example, division of labor or policies of the company or even, competence of executives. we should know why she think the most important ways to improve overall profits is preventing the workers from using computer for personal purpose to rate this argument properly

Second, she also hastily assumes that only by installing the software which detects Internet use, the company can block employees' deviation. However, there are many ways to detour any software. Also there are a possibility that one of employees have ability to hack the software, as a result all workers could know the way to break the program. Until she presents us how stable the software is, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Finally, even if we admit other problematic assumptions, still there are a critical assumption. The workers personal usage of computer could not curtail productivity, rather than increasing the efficiency. There are many examples that although a corporation has the companies have free work environment, the profit of the company increases, such as Google, Facebook. Rather than prohibit free atmosphere, these companies promote their workers to stay freely and creative. If she cannot explain why she thinks their workers' recreational activities are harmful for the company, this argument is not persuasive.

To summarize, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more precise, the vice president has to give us data about stability of the software and explains why she thinks that the most harmful way to hinder for raising profit is personal usage of computer. To evaluate better, she must explain us how she think other examples that are different from her recommendation.