Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

By saying that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, the speaker asserts that role of educators is leading students to promising fields regardless of their own thought. In some sense, it is true that the purpose of education is helping students to succeed in terms of the material considering of our society which want us to have a lot of money as much as we can. In my opinion, however, the success of lives is not limited to abundance in materials and even if one is abundant in materials, he/she can be unhappy.

Of course, few would disagree that we cannot live on only our interest or talents in the capitalism society. After having enough income or materials, one could seek his own interest, ideal or talents. For example, Because Darwin was inherited lots of money from his father, without a certain job or income, he could focus on research about organisms. As a result, you know, He could write ‘Origin of Species’ and achieved great feats. This implies that some degree of material precedes seeking one’s interest, ideal or talents.

However, this does not necessarily mean that an individual’s interest or talents could be ignored when he considers his career. When it comes to people who are unhappy or even undergo mental disease, because of boring and meaningless work in their workplace. In Korea, there are many people who move to the rural region from big cities after quitting their jobs, even though, they have had professional, high-income occupations which most people envy. They often said they feel themselves like only components of a factory, which repeat the same and meaningless, even annoying work every day, every month, for many years. This shows that how much one’s own talents are important in determining what they will do in the future.

Moreover, there have been many people who are very poor but other people respect them and call their lives succeeding lives. For example, people who work for the common good in NGO or, following their own creeds, help starving people in ‘the third world’ without any reward are not disparaged as poor or incompetent people rather than call them great people or, even ‘saints’ whom God sent us to show his love. This implies that we cannot evaluate the success of one’s life with how much his or her property is.

To summarize, in spite of general belief that material is central to evaluate one’s life or an essential part of living, in terms of cases that rich life is a sufficient condition of happiness or the criterion of succeeded life is not restricted to affluence of material, I cannot fully agree that the final purpose of education is helping make students wealthy.