The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the vice president of Quito Manufacturing claims that this company’s each of our three work shifts should be shortened by one hour to cut the number of on-the-job accidents at Quito and increase productivity. To support her argument, she points out that Quito Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than Quito’s. And she cites experts’ opinion that says the causes of this case are fatigue and sleep deprivation among works. Careful scrutiny reveals that this article has several flaws

Firstly, the author hastily assumes that the condition of the two factories is exactly same. The number of accidents could not mean the frequency. For example, if in Quito Manufacturing, 10 accidents occurred per 100 people but in Panoply Manufacturing, 7 accidents occurred per 10 people, this ratio says that the Panoply has the higher amount of accidents. Until the author presents us specified data about the fraction of all people to the number of accidents, we cannot be convinced by this memo.

Secondly, based on the opinion of experts, the vice president hastily assumes that the main reason of occurring accident is fatigue and lack of sleep. However, there could be other factors which affect the occurrence of the accidents. For example, the work in Quito factory could be more dangerous than Panoply, or even the safety-education is lack to decrease the occurrence of the accidents. If this is true, this argument is still controversial.

Finally, even if we concede that the other problematic assumption is true, there is still a questionable assumption The decrease in the number of accidents is not followed by the increase in productivity. Common sense tells us that there are many factors which affect productivity such as diligence of worker, improvement of facilities, etc. If she cannot explain the reason she thinks the decreasing of accidents will increase productivity, this argument is still dubious,

To summarize, this argument is questionable as it stands. To be more persuasive, the vice president has to explain the exact cause of accidents and present us specified data about the fraction of all people to the number of accidents. To rate better, she must explain why she thinks productivity is the result of decreasing occurrence of accidents