The following appeared in a health magazine. (144, 151)

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

In this health magazine, the author claims that it is clear that the citizens of D city have adopted more healthful lifestyles. To support her argument, she cites a survey which indicates that their eating habits follows the government nutritional recommendations. And she cites sales reports which show increasing sales of Kiran, the substance which is proved to reduce cholesterol level and decreasing sales of sulla, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that many citizens more observe the government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago, the author hastily assumes that the the people who follow the government nutritional recommendation must be healthy. However it could not be true. Common sense tells us that people's health are affected by not only diet but many factors such as genetic trait or environment. And each people have their proper criterion to eat daily. Until she explains why the government nutritional recommendation can represent people's health state, this argument is not cogent.

Secondly, based on the fact that the sales of food product which contains Kiran, which reduce level of cholesterol in body increased, she assumes that try to eat good nutritional food can shows that people are actually healthy. However, it could not be true. For example, ironically, people eat nutritionally good food product when they are sick or their body state is not good. If this is true, we cannot convinced by this argument.

Finally, based on the fact that the sales of food product which contains sulla, which the most healthy people in the city do not eat decrease, she assumes that the level of consuming of a food can show its effect to damage. However, this could not be true. For example, some food products such as wild ginseng is very good for health. But because of rarity and high price of it, very few people can buy the food. Then, can we say wild ginseng is not good for health? Answer is no. If she cannot rule this problem, this argument is groundless.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to give exact data about the effect of food products which contain sulla and have to explain why she thinks eating food products which contain Kiran can indicate that the consumer is robust. To evaluate better, we have to know that whether following the government nutritional recommends can result people's health and the recommends are proper to all people.