The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this recommendation, the author claims that the Seoul city has to replace the residential area on the opposite side of the city to further revitalize the city. To support her claims, she points out that the result of changing housing area near the freeway to the industrial use increase tax revenues and effect to the construction of few factories. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

First, the author hastily assumes that recent conditions of the city are similar with 10-year ago the condition of the city. Common sense tells us, however, that 10 years is enough time for everything to be changed. The trend of the industry, patterns of consumption, traits of residents etc. could be changed for 10 years. If she cannot why she thinks the conditions of the city have been little changed, we cannot be convinced by her recommendation

Second, based on the fact that, after adaption for industrial use a large area of housing near the freeway, tax revenue increased, she assumes the time sequence as causality. there is a possibility that the reason for increased tax revenue was not due to the transformation. Perhaps, for example, the number of residents or visitors could be increased or, as the economic state of the nation has improved, the state of the city could have got better. Until the author presents us specified data about the precise reason for increasing tax revenue, this argument is improper.

Finally, she hastily assumes that the empty houses nearby neighborhood are enough for the people of the residential area. Even If there are unoccupied house and, even, the city government gives subsidy for moving, in reality, there are many limitations for this kind of moving. For example, the number of empty houses could be matched with the number of residents in that area, or some individuals could not want to move because of recollection for the earlier houses. If these are true, this argument is problematic.

In conclusion, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this recommendation more persuasive, the author has to explain why the author thinks previous and recent conditions of the city are the same and give us data about the cause of increased tax revenue. To evaluate better, she must why she thinks the citizen s of the residential area will accept the forceful movement.