The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. (62, 122, 124,

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

In this memo, the director of a large group of hospitals claims that the Ultra Clean liquid soap is best choice for preventing patient infections and the hospital have to replace the kind of previously used liquid soap with the Ultra Clean. To support her argument, she cites a experience which indicates that the Ultra Clean is more efficient for eliminating the harmful bacteria than previously used hand soap in controlled laboratory environment. And she cites a report which is conducted in the hospital group and say that the Ultra Clean can reduce patient infection by 20%. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that the Ultra Clean hand soap can reduce more bacteria than other kind of hand soap in the laboratory condition, the author hastily assumes that the item would also works against bacteria at similar degree of eliminating them in hospital condition. However, their effect will not be same. Common sense tells us that experiments in laboratory are conducted in rigidly controlled condition to know the hand soap' effect by minimizing affection of other factors except of soap . But, in hospital, there are many things that can affect the power of the soap. If she cannot rule out this problem, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, based on the fact that occurrence of patient in the hospital is 20 % fewer than other groups, the author wrongly assumes that reduction of patient infection is actually meaningful. However, the number, 20%, could not actually show whether reduction is not meaningful. For example, even if the rate of patient infection decreases in the hospital, the number of patient who are infected per specific unit of people could be larger than other hospitals. If this is true, this argument is not cogent.

Finally, even if we admit that other problems are true, there is another critical problem. based on the fact the researcher uses the concentrated solution of the kind of hand soap, the author presumes that the low concentration of the soap has similar effect with concentrated solution of the soap. However, if the concentration differs, the effect can differ. These

non-same experimental condition has no ground.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to do experiment again in the same condition expect difference between control group and experimental group and have to explain why she thinks the soap would have same ability to killing infectious agents in laboratory condition with in hospital condition. To evaluate better, we have be given additional data about decreased number of patient infection per a specific number of unit of people.