The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

In this news letter, the author claims that the government have try to reduce the number of accidents by educating bicyclists with focusing on the other factors which are necessary for bicycle safety rather than using helmet. To support her argument, the author cites a Ten-year nationwide study which indicates that the rate of people who wears a helmet during riding bicycles increase approximately 35% for 10 years and the effectiveness of using helmet. And she cites another study which indicates that the number of accidents which are related to bicycles have increased 200%. And she assumes, based on this study, that the reason of increased number of accidents is that the riders feel safer when they wears helmet and this feeling cause them to take more risks. It seems plausible first, however, this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the number of accidents increased during the terms of study and her assumption which thinks that the reason of increased accidents is bicyclists' risk taking tendencies which come from wearing helmet, the author hastily assumes that the increased number of accidents is only because of riders' carelessness. However, there could be other factors which could cause accidents. For example, the carelessness of pedestrian or car drivers' carelessness could be reason ,not bicyclists'. If the author cannot rule out this problem, this argument is not cogent.

Secondly, based on the 35% increase in the rate of people who wear helmet during bicycling during the terms of study, the author assumes that the result of this study can show that effectiveness of helmet. However, the number of people who wears helmet could not be related to effectiveness of helmet. Common sense tells us that many people use safety equipment, whether it is related to bike or car, because of observing safety law rather than their convenience. If this is true this argument has no ground.

Thirdly, even if we admit other problems are true, there is another critical problem. Based on two surveys, the author wrongly presumes that the result of two surveys will be same in the future. However, the bicyclists would show other tendency for using helmet or risk-taking riding. For example, they could not prefer dangerous riding or, even, their rate of using helmet could decrease. Until she explain why she thinks the inclination of the people is stable, this argument is not cogent

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this newsletter more persuasive, the author has to additional data which indicate the real reason for increased number of accidents and has to explain why she thinks that the rate of using helmet during bicycling can be an indicator of the effectiveness of helmet. To evaluate better, we have to know whether the result of two surveys will be same or continuous in the future.