132. The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

In this letter, the author claims that the school in the town of Centerville has to support mandatory driver's education program to reduce occurrence of car accidents by teenagers. To support her argument, she says teenage drivers have related to several car accidents in and around Centerville in the past two years. And she cites some parents' complains about short time for them to educate driving to their children. Also, she says fee for two driving schools in Centerville burden for some parents' budget. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that some teenagers have involved some car accidents in and around the town, she hastily assumes that the teenagers who have involved in the accidents are students of the high school in the town or residents of the Centerville. However, the teenagers could not be student of the high school or even, they could come from other region. Common sense tells us that all car accidents could not result from the people of a region. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if the teenagers were student of the high school or residents of the town, based on the fact that they were related to the accidents, the author wrongly assumes that the cause of the accidents is lack of ability of driving of the students. However, the real reason for the accidents could not be inherent in the students. For example, even if the students had good driving skills and sufficient knowledge about traffic laws, other drivers' mistakes or fault could lead to accidents. If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument has no ground.

Finally, even if we admit that other assumptions is true, there is another critical problem. Based on the fact that the teenagers of the high school or the region have involved the accidents in and around the Centerville in the past year, the author presumes that these tendency has not been eccentric and will be continuous in the future. However, there is no warranty that these cases have been not temporary. For example, the people who were in teen-age generation have "uncommonly" lacked of driving skills or knowledge about traffic laws or next generation who are in teen-age generation at present time can have good driving skills and proper knowledge about traffic laws. Until she explains us that why she thinks the occasion of accidents have included in common cases, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to give us additional data about that the students who have involved the several accidents are really students of the high school in the town of Centerville and about that the real cause of accidents can be attributed to the teenagers. To evaluate better, the author must explain us why she thinks that occasions of these accidents is not uncommon and will be continuous in the future.