The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview. (61, 141)

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In this memo, the budget planner for the city of Grandview claims that the funding for Grandview symphony has to be discontinued from next year to prevent a city budget deficit. To support her argument, she says that the private contribution to the symphony increased by 200% and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. And she cites symphony's officials announcement which indicates that the symphony will increase its ticket price. And she assumes that these can show the stability of finance state of the symphony and limiting funding for the symphony will not result financial problem of the symphony. It seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the personal donation for the symphony increased by 200% last year, author assumes that the increased rate of the contribution is meaningful number. However, the number, 200%, cannot be actually helpful to the symphony. For example, increased amount of personal contribution cannot cover overall necessary budget of the symphony. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if the increased personal contribution could bear overall necessary budget of the symphony, based on the same evidence which I mention just previous paragraph, the author assumes that this increased personal contribution of last year is common case and people will donate same degree of money in the future. However, the amount of contribution could not be stable and could be changed in the future. Common sense tells us that people tend to donate their money to institution like schools. symphonies and NGO when their property can afford it or national financial state is good. If financial state of the nation become bad in next few years, they will be more likely not to contribute. If she cannot explain why she thinks this phenomenon-increased contribution-will be continuous in the future, this argument has no ground.

Finally, even if we admit other problems are true, there is another problem. Based on the fact that the number of people who attend the concert doubled last year and the symphony will increase the ticket price and the personal contribution increased last year, the author presumes that the income of next year's net price will be black. However, the amount of income cannot afford the a year-budget of the symphony. For example, considering that inflation, needed budget for the symphony could be also increased. If the increasing rate of budget of the symphony is higher than total income which come from selling ticket, personal contribution and the concert, the financial state of the symphony will be red next year.

If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, she has to explain why she thinks increased personal contribution is meaningful for the overall budget of symphony and this increase will continue in the future. For evaluating better, we have to be given additional data which show expected rate of next year's budget of the symphony to overall income