The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

In this application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe, the author of this application claims that the plan for opening a new jazz club in Monroe will be successful and they deserve the admission of the small loan. To support her argument, she says that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last year and the radio program, 'Jazz Nightly', is the most popular program in the region. And she gives information that there are many house of famous jazz musicians in Monroe and the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Also, she cites nationwide research which shows that jazz fans usually spend almost 1000 dollars on enjoying music. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with and the foremost, based on the nationwide research which indicated that people who like jazz have tendency not to be reluctant to spend their money on listening music, she assumes that the people of Monroe would also like spending money on jazz entertainment. However, it could not be true. For example, if the financial state of people of Monroe is not good or if the people of Monroe don't like jazz as passionate as they spend up to almost 100,000 dollars on jazz music, they would not go to new jazz club. Until the author rule out this problem, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, based on the fact that over 100,000 people attended the jazz festival last year, the author hastily assumes that the number of attendance of the festival can be an indicator of popularity of the jazz in the region. However, the number of the attendance could not show popularity for jazz. Common sense tells us that most attendance of regional festival is people who come from outside of the region. If this is true, this argument is groundless.

Finally, even if we admit the attendance of the festival is mainly composed of the local people, the author wrongly assumes that the popularity for jazz music would not change. However, the preference for music genre can be change. Common sense tells us that most people listen to music following general and recent trend and this trend is not stable and easily changeable according to broadcast or new musicians. If she cannot explain the tendency will not differ in the future, this argument is not persuasive.

To summarize, this argument is not cogent as it stands. To make this application more realistic, the author has to explain why she thinks the likeness of music of residents of Monroe will be continuous in the future and has to provide additional data which shows that the number of local people of Monroe who attended the jazz festival last year. To evaluate this argument better, we have to know that the people of Monroe like jazz music or their economic state is good enough to paying their money in jazz club