College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Stating that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field, the only purpose of studying is making one's good career. Of course, it is undeniable that earning money is the main function of jobs. In my point, however, there are other considerations when we choose our filed. Considering the real meaning of study and the possibility that jobs which many people want are 'red ocean', it is proper for a student to choose his own interest.

Of course, many people would agree that secular result is the main criterion of a person. In terms of that we are living in highly capitalism modern society which stresses only results, it is desirable for an educator to recommend his students that having a good job is helpful to live in that society. For example, in biology, many institution and nations give more fund to molecular biology and build laboratories for the field. In the other hand, in non-molecular biological filed such as evolutionary biology or ecology or taxonomy, students or graduate students are hard to get in a research institution. This shows that choosing a prospective field can totally different from people who don't.

However, can we always say that those selections make us happy? My answer is no. There are many ways to make one's life better. Considering that we feel happy when we know something unknown before, it is reasonable to consider the real meaning of the study. For example, in science, most fields which are available for jobs are applicant science. In applicant science, it tends to need only simple techniques, not deep understanding. And they do not require making a theoretical base. It shows that people who assess a field with the only possibility of success may not realize the fun of studying deeply.

Moreover, considering that most people are thinking in the same way when deciding where to go, a student's chosen filed may be already red ocean. And it means that the possibility of success in any filed may be same, whether it is prospective or not.

For example, in the popular field such as Computer science and Economy, many people will choose those field and this makes a highly competitive situation. But in a non-popular field such as English literature and Taxonomy, although there are no many opportunities, if one could succeed in getting a job in those fields, there could be the bigger possibility than other fields.

To summarize, it is undeniable that our society's pervasive attitude to non-prospective field is cold. However, considering that happiness that we can get from only studying and high risk of popular field, it is proper to consider other fields. Only ignoring these views, parents could advise their children that going prospective filed is unconditionally better