The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Stating that commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time, the editor of local news claims that the resolution of this problem is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway rather than broadening the highway. To justify her assumption, she said that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green highways was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it and many area residents are keen bicyclists. Careful scrutiny reveals that there are many problematic assumptions in her conclusion

First, she hastily assumes that adding an additional lane to Blue highway would be worsening the traffic jam. However, there is a possibility that the case of Blue Highways is not similar to Green Highway. For example, the number of the lanes of Green highways lane is originally little, the additional lane is not efficient to reduce traffic jam. Also, worsening of traffic jam in Green Highway is not because of adding another lane, but because of increasing of the number of users of the highway. Until the author gives us additional information about why an additional lane worsened traffic, we cannot accept her sayings

Second, if we concede that worsening traffic jam in Green Highways is due to add another lane, there is another improper assumption. The editor says that there are people who like riding bicycles. So, If a bicycle lane is added to the Blue Highways, they will commute by bicycle. However, if the number of people who like bicycles is small to affect the amount of traffic, adding a bicycle lane is totally unuseful. Also, there is no guarantee that the people will like commuting with bicycles in the future. If the author gives us specified data about the ratio of the bicycle-commuters, it is dubious as it stands

Finally, if we admit other problematic assumptions, however, there remains a critical problem. There's no specified evidence that worsened traffic jam in Blue HIghways is a result of the short number of lanes. Common sense tells us that there are many complicated factors that affect traffic jam such as increasing number of car-commuters or traffic signals.

the author has to show the real reason why traffic is increased, if not, we can not properly this argument

To conclude, this argument has several local flaws. To make this argument more persuasive, the author must propose additional information about the reason why an additional lane makes traffic worse on Green Highways and the ratio of bicycle commuters. To evaluate better, she must give us a real reason for increasing traffic in Blue Highways