The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Stating that the best test of an argument is the argument’s ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint, this view asserts that the main standard to evaluate an argument is how persuasive it is. In some sense, it is true that considering the purpose of a claim, one person who wants to make a good argument is better to think its power helping to change other counterparts’ mind to own side. In my point, however, when it comes to the effect of strongly persuasive, but not moral or inaccurate and wrong speech, it is dangerous only to focusing on making an argument more effective.

Of course, many people would agree that making his own side who were not sharing the same view before is the important function of one’s claim. Considering the way science has developed, it is certain that an idea has the power to convince other people who object the idea. In that, if a scientist makes a new theory which casts doubt on the generally accepted concept, other scientists may scrutinize it and re-experiment for deciding whether it is plausible or not. If other scientists admit the new theory is accurate, it will supersede old one, otherwise, it will be diminished. This shows that persuasiveness may be a very important value of an argument.

However, can we always say that all cogent claim is good? My answer is definitely no. Considering many historical events which were occurred by immoral and evil-intentioned claims, we are better to think an argument is whether moral or immoral when we assess it. For example, Adolf Hitler’s speech is very notorious for its power to instill his thought for people’s mind. Even if his claim was very strong, because the saying is filled with evil intention, million Jews and other ethnic groups were decimated during The second war. It shows that, without strict moral norms, a speech could make a terrible result.

Moreover, considering that big effect of inaccurate information in modern society, so-called ‘mass media age’, we have a duty to check whether a claim is based on facts and right information or not. For example, when a movement to accuse sexual problems, called ‘Me-too movement’, has just begun in Korea, many popularities were involved in. Among them, there are people who really committed sexual crimes, however, there were other people who did not. Those innocent people were blamed with crimes which they did not do, so, some people have killed themselves.

To summarize, many people would not deny that persuasiveness is one of the main parts of an argument. However, considering negative results which may come from badly intentioned speech or blames based on wrong information, it is short-sighted to say the most important value of an argument is persuasiveness. Only ignoring these dangers, one could say that Adolf Hitler’s remark is good.