It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Stating that it is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves, this view asserts that our identity are largely affected by a society which we are included. In some senses it is true that people have tendency to look other people or themselves through filtered view by groups in which they or themselves live. In my point of view, however, considering that there are many natures of a people which are inherent in the person and there are many things we cannot seemingly know because they are hidden, it is not proper that considering traits of groups in which a people are included is not proper if we want to exactly know a person.

Of course, few would disagree that many parts of our characteristics, behaviors, habits are affected by near people who are in same group. Considering that there are preference of corporations for specific schools, it seems reasonable that we can evaluate a person with his/her social groups. For example, many personnel directors of corporations want to choose suitable people for their company and they tend to hire people who graduate high-level schools such MIT, Harvard univ., or Seoul Nat. Univ. in Korea. When they asked why they prefer candidates who come from those schools, they answers say that the people who graduate high-level schools tend to be more hardworking and skillful than other people. This examples shows that what we are can be decided by our groups.

However, can we always say that one's social group is proper indicator of a person? My answer is no. When it comes to talents which are given by god, the talents could not be a result of socialization. For example, at that time of Van Gogh, many artists are supported by the noble and included in artists community. Although Van Gogh didn't, can we say that he was not even artists and had no a drop of talents for art? This example shows that being included in a group is not only cause of our identification.

Moreover, considering that people have their own figures which cannot be seemingly expressed, seeing group in which he /she is included can be an obstacle to exactly analyze a person. In my experience, I met a person when I was in army. He was a student of, so-called, low-level of university, so I thought he would have little common sense and low degree of knowledge of his major. But I was surprised at he had large professional experiences. This shows that what we can see through his external background is only partial part of him

To summarize, many people would think that people are tailored according to his background and group. However, considering that examples of Van Gogh and my experience, we cannot say our identity can be fully revealed by our group in which we are included. Only calcified people would asserts that the only thing we need to see when we know a person each other is his group not himself