The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the new building project should be accomplished by zeta rather than alpha. To reinforce the conclusion, the author mentions zeta’s stable workforce and the building erected by zeta which have not only low maintenance fee but also less energy consumption. however, some questions should be discussed to better evaluate the conclusion.

On the ground of the fact that zeta’s construction’s maintenance expenses were half of those of alpha’s last year, the author makes an unfair assumption that the total costs of zeta’s building would be lower than those of alpha’s in the long run. however, we are not informed of the exact price of building’s maintenance fee constructed by alpha. it’s probable that the base number is such a small number that the difference of real costs on maintenance between alpha and zeta can be totally neglected. even though the costs cannot be ignored, the statistics in last year may not represent the current situation. Chances are high that the prices of materials and the salary of workers may rise dramatically in the region where zeta’s building is erected, contributing to significant increment on maintenance expenses. Therefore, more specific details need to be provided to validate the assumption.

Besides, the author states that zeta’s building consumes less energy than alpha’s, assuming that the company would save much money on energy consumption if choosing zeta for the new project. Nonetheless, some questions should be answered before we can draw the conclusion. In all likelihood, the office building accomplished by alpha is much larger and contains a much greater number of employees as well as more electric applications such as computers and air-conditions compared with zeta’s construction. Thus, less energy consumption in zeta’s building has nothing to do with zeta’s building skills, materials and so on. even if they have the same scale, there might be large differences on working time between two different regions, which means the total time of using energy in the two buildings may have great distinctions.

The author also concludes that zeta would perform better since its workforce is stable. however, it’s perfunctory to connect unchanged working structure with great ability and high quality of work. it’s possible that the little employee turnover in zeta means those employees have such terrible operational capability that they are not appreciated by any other company, leaving them no choice but stay at the zeta company. In addition, the changeless workforce, if saying honestly, may be responsible for the lack of fierce competitiveness, which would engender the idleness of employees and the absence of more creative ideas. As a result, the workers in zeta may not keep pace with the times or even be much worse than they were ten years ago. To authenticate the connection between stable workforce and high quality of construction, the author is supposed to offer more detailed evidence.

To sum up, the author’s recommendation on new project does not hold water. More testimony concerning maintenance expenses, energy consumption as well as workforce situation should be put forward.