The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that all the employees should be required to take the easy read course since it could improve the productivity dramatically. In order to reinforce the statement, the author points out the comments of other companies and the examples of course’s graduates. however, more concrete information should be provided to better evaluate the conclusion.

The author indicates that various companies hold positive attitudes towards the easy read speed-reading course, assuming that the course does have a myriad benefits. however, the assumption does not hold water owing to lack of evidence concerning the validity of other companies’ comments. In all likelihood, some companies may take the bribe to exaggerate the course’s advantages while none of their employees have actually experienced the course by themselves, not to mention benefiting dramatically from it. Besides, we could not exclude the possibility that it’s those companies that set up the easy read speed-reading course together, which could explain their praise since they are advertising for their own project.

Based on the fact that the reading speed of one graduate and the promotion of another, the author unfairly implicates that the achievements of two graduates have everything to do with the increment of productivity due to the course. Nonetheless, alternative explanations could rival the proposed explanation. Chances are high that the first graduate had already mastered the ability to read at such a speed before he participated in the course, which means that there is no correlation between his remarkable productivity with the course. As for the second graduate, it’s probable that his promotion is contributed from the hidden rule in the company instead of the rise of efficiency. Therefore, to reinforce the implication, the author is supposed to make a thorough and deep study on the initial ability of the first graduate and the real approach to promotion of the second.

Even though the graduates do cultivated higher ability and numerous companies’ assessments are accurate, it’s perfunctory for the author to require all the employees to engage in the easy read course. we are not supposed to ignore the fact that every department in the company has its own duty which calls for totally different capability of workers. Even though some employees such as secretary could hone out the reading skills and thus enhance the efficiency significantly, would it be similarly useful for those people whose jobs have no demand on their reading speed like receptionist? it the author does not afford more detailed testimony about different scenarios of workers, the recommendation is unreliable and cursory to be implemented.

To sum up, the author’s conclusion is quiet unauthenticated and more information is needed to bolster the argument.