3. Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author mentions that students should be persuaded by educational institutions to draw away from fields which they are unlikely to make success. However, I disagree with the point since the author overly simplifies the difficulty to predict the success and the psychological harm to students once they are kept away from fields they are passionate about.

We could not deny the fact that the pursuit of unsuitable areas sometimes would bring people failure along with giant pressure. For example, Mark Twain, the worldwide famous writer, once was stubborn in being a publisher and setting up his own company, only to end up with being stuck in poverty. Likewise, Tao Yuanming, a Chinese poet featured romantic and relaxing poems, was persisted in serving as an official while he was too kind and straight to put up with the darkness of officialdom, consequently leading to his extreme disappointment and insulation from the world. As a result, students who choose those aspects that they have little chance to be successful would take numerous risks and it’s inevitable for educational institutions such as their schools to feel responsible to keep them away from those obstacles.

However, it’s virtually impossible for educational institutions to exactly predict whether they would succeed in their fields. The pace of modern society is so rapid that prospects of profession changes very fast, making it almost impossible to forecast the future of a field. The subject concerning economy as well as business used to be the priority of talented students while it now faces with the challenges of saturation and also the market is not as prosperous as it used to be. computer science, especially artificial intelligence, was once considered as the impractical imagination and researches in this area were thought to end up with nothing but crazy dreams. but now could anyone ignore the huge success of various computer companies and the incredible influence brought by the machine learning? taking all these trends into consideration, it’s unrealistic for educational institutions to know if their students would make success in their areas.

Even though they are aware of the field’s unpromising future, it would be improper to dissuade them from fields which they have passion on. In all likelihood, the crucial deprivation of their rights to pursue dreams would engender unimaginable mental harm, resulting in their severe rebellion and their final failure. numerous kids, who always are interested in art, sports and so on, have to be forced to major in electric engineer or laws since their parents and schools consider those popular majors would be shortcuts to receive not only fame but also fortune. As a result, many of kids experience not a bit joy but endless pain to study, which could explain their self-indulgence in video games or worse.

To sum up, the disadvantages of educational institutions’ prevention on students’ pursuit overwhelm the advantages