Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author claims that examining the character of a society’s role models is the most effective approach to identifying its character since those models could demonstrate the whole society’s highest ideals. I agree with the reason but have a disagreement with the claim due to the author’s over simplification of the character of a society.

we could not deny the fact that those chosen heroes do represent the most significant pursuit of our society. In fact, not only the traditional stories concerning historical heroes told by our teachers but also the exemplary deeds about current models reported by media always encourage us to develop characteristics which would meet the society’s moral expectations. The great achievements of Yulu Jiao, who devoted himself to saving the mountain village from poverty, cast lights on the strong dedication and the sense of responsibility. Learning about the Youyou Tu’s outstanding work on artemisinin to heal the malaria, one could gain more understanding of persistence as well as cooperation. Familiar with the heroic accomplishments of Min Yu who sacrifices the fame and fortune to study hydrogen bomb, people are expected to be loyal to the country without requirements of interests. Taking these things into consideration, we could know that those heroes as well as models are chosen to illustrate the whole society’s highest expectations.

However, identifying the characteristics of models may still be useless to identify the society’s characters since there might be a giant gap between a society’s prospects and its real features. Sometimes the social expectations are too ideal and unrealistic to be achieved. For instance, teachers keep instilling in our minds the stories of DaYu who never went back home in order to protect other people from the horrible flood. Touched as we are, chances are high that few people would actually imitate his behavior, not to mention considering it as a social feature. Besides, people nowadays are so tired of struggling with the rapid pace, giant pressure as well as various deceptions of current life that they could hardly comply with some moral requirements. Pengyu, a warm-hearted college students, offered a helping hand to the old lady who fell on the road, only to be charged with knocking her down. Under such circumstance, would most people still be willing to be as kind as they are taught?

To sum up, the society does select role models to disclose its ideals, but they may have a discrepancy with the real situation and examining features of role models to reveal social characters is unreliable.