Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that students’ evaluation on professors should be discontinued. To reinforce the conclusion, the author points out the employers’ unwillingness to hire omega university’s students and the students’ less success of omega university compared with that of alpha university. however, more specific evidence is needed to better evaluate the conclusion.

The author indicates that it’s the evaluation system that contributes to the improvement of students’ grades. however, it’s perfunctory to assume that rise of scores is definitely explained by the implement of evaluation process. In all likelihood, student’s academic ability might actually be enhanced dramatically due to the professors’ hard-working, leading to their better performance in the examination. Besides, there is possibility that the tests in the university all over the country became so easy that every student, even bottom-level one, could make giant progress concerning their grades. More detailed information about the student’s actual academic capability as well as the difficulty of final exams should be provided to authenticate the causal-and-effect relationship.

On the ground of the fact that the omega’s graduates don’t acquire fancy jobs, the author unfairly assumes that potential employers’ dissatisfaction on their inflated grades have everything to do with their loss. however, some convincing testimony of graduates’ actual ability and the omega university’s reputation is supposed to be put forward to vindicate the assumption. chances are high that omega university is so focused on students’ academic performance that it ignores to cultivate student’s practical ability as well as communication skills, which are highlighted by the potential company and employers in the interview. What’s worse, the fame and reputation of omega university might decline significantly during these years, resulting in company’s inevitable doubt on graduates’ ability and unwillingness to hire them.

Based on the phenomena that alpha’s graduates get more successful jobs than omega’s students do, the author makes an cursory assumption that omega’s students experience terrible failure in finding jobs. Nonetheless, it’s probable that alpha is a recognized top university in the country while omega is considered as a low-ranking school, as a result of which, employers are much more inclined to provide alpha’s graduates with more opportunities of work. even though the giant gap is nonexistent, we could not ignore the possibility that omega and alpha are two colleges focusing on totally different areas. students in omega mostly major in art field such as choreography while the majority of graduates in alpha study computer science as well as networking security, engendering an inevitable difference in profession prospects and chances. Therefore, the author should offer more proof of the difference between alpha university and omega university to validate the assumption.

To sum up, the author’s conclusion on terminating students’ evaluation does not hold water. More credence is expected to be provided.