The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

The student newspaper of Groveton College suggests to introduce the honor code similar to the Groveton college to reduce the number of cheating cases among college students. The author backs his claim by providing the reason that, the number of cheating cases after placing the new honor code number of cheating cases have reduced drastically. Hence, he recommends Groveton college honor code for other colleges and universities struggling with a high number of cheating among students. However, the author has ignored many assumptions which are crucial to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the author argues that there is a consistent decrease in the number of cheating cases among students at Groveton College. However, there is a lack of data to validate this claim. As there is only one year of data available for the old honor code, which is insufficient to say that it is inferior to the new honor code. Based on the information provide in the argument students agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors, but there is no guarantee that students will obey this agreement. In fact, there is a possibility that the students will cheat openly and will encourage others for cheating as there will not be anyone to monitor them.

Secondly, the new honor code is like you are saying lion to not hunt which is impossible. The students with the greed of getting high marks will cheat without any fear in the new honor code. However, the author is saying that this new system is more successful due to a decrease in the number of cheating cases. The decrease in the number of cheating cases may be due to a large number of good and bright students admitting to Groveton college. There is also a possibility that the number of students getting admitted to Groveton college is decreasing hence, there is a low number of cheating cases among students.

Thirdly, the students saying that with the new honor code system they will less likely to cheat but really can we trust? There is a lack of evidence that shows that this decrease in the number of cheating cases among students is due to the new honor code. There is also no way we can assume that the new honor code is better than the old honor code.

To sum up, the author could have provided more data to prove his point. There is a lack of pieces of evidence and the argument is based on several assumptions hence, it will not be right to say that the new honor code is better than the old one and it will work with all colleges, universities.