Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted
wisdom of the time
This is a proven fact that truth is the initial stage of progress. However, it is also believed that
truth always starts away from the traditions and conventions. Therefore, people consider truths as
attacks upon their beliefs, which people are following from ages. Truth also means some new
facts that are unknown to us. People do not want to deviate from the facts, which they have learnt
from their ancestors, and it is true to say that shedding ones dogmas is often difficult. They feel
that it is an attack on their wisdom.
If we look at the history of the world, we will find many examples where truth has generated
commotions in the society. Different people have different views about the existence of God, life
after death and origin of earth etc. For example, people took a long time to accept that the earth
is round. Religious leaders and clergymen opposed this idea as it was against what they were
teaching. Similarly, when Polish astronomer, Copernicus discovered that the earth goes round
the sun and not vice versa, he was opposed by churches for many years. In fact he and his
supporters were convicted for their ideas. Hence, it is very difficult to change the traditions that
are followed by majority of people.
Similarly, when Darwin gave the theory of evolution, and challenged the old ideology, he was
resisted by public. Nobody was ready to believe that apes were the ancestors of humankind.
However, it is important to accept truths, otherwise it would hinder the growth of mankind. It is
important for us to accept new ideas so as to bring out reforms in society and thus adopt new
ideologies. It would open doors for various kinds of development. One should not blindly accept
and follow old ideas or new truths. There should be enough scientific approach and explanations
for everything.
However, there might be different reasons for this kind of uncomfortable reactions against truth.
The first and the most responsible reason is the human nature. Most people will not prefer to
change their ways of life and thinking, as it is accepted and prevalent from time unknown. They
believe in what they are doing and experiencing for their whole life. The second factor is that
truths often challenge the other persons authority. In order to save their status and honor,
authoritarians oppose new ideas and truths. In getting their own way, they provoke the public.
Sometimes these reactions go violent also.
However, these days, people are becoming more open minded. They are ready to accept new
ideas. Our societies all over the world are getting more flexible and open to new truths. Hence,
new ideas and truths are accepted peacefully and there are no violent commotions.
The conclusion is that important truths, which challenge the proven wisdom, always, face
oppression. However, if these truths hold any ground, then these are accepted over a period of
time after facing trials.