Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

In order for people to get along with other people certain rules and regulations had to be put into place. For example rules like the “right to free speech” or not to rob others’ belongings form fundamental goals of the society that governs its citizens. In current times almost everyone exists within some society, but the problem becomes much more complex when analyzing groups at massive scales. satisfying and arriving at agreements within tens of people seems reasonable and straightforward. however, in cases like the United States of America, today’s societies must strike a balance between hundreds of millions of people.

A relationship between the welfare of a society and the welfare of its people ultimately depends on the goals that the individuals place on their society. some people believe that a society is built to serve its inhabitants; at which point it seems only fair to measure its effectiveness by the satisfaction of the people who it is supposed to support. other people claim that the society exists to protect the people it governs irrespective of their own desires; thus, the success of a society is based off of how it accomplishes its fundamental purpose irrespective of the demands of the people. because the goals of a society affect how its success is measured I will assume that the goal of a society is to protect and enable its people, as this is the goal of the society I live in.

In a society which prioritizes protection of its people many a times there is conflict between individual desire and safety of individuals. For example, consider the restriction of the distribution of firearms to individuals in societies. On one hand the inhabitants desire to own weapons is a measure of individual well-being and liberty. On the other hand to better protect its inhabitants the society would need to restrict and infringe upon the well-being and desires of its individuals. because the goal of the society is to prioritize protection, this is a case where I would consider that the success of the society is independent of the well-being and comfort of its inhabitants.

General happiness of a society’s inhabitants is not ignored under the goal of protection and enablement. Even if the society prioritizes these two goals then enablement of people directly relates to their well-being. this allows the construction of the contrapositive if an individual is not doing well then the society is not giving them the liberty to succeed. In order to gauge how well a society accomplished its goal of individual enablement it must consider the general happiness of the population. however, this is only because the society’s goals in this this align with the goals of its people.

Therefore, I believe that the society’s success is different than the success of its individuals. but if the goals of the include the success of the individuals, in order to measure the effectiveness of a society satisfying its goals one would have to look at the satisfaction of the inhabitants.