Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Dr. Karp and Dr. Field try to understand the upbringing of the youth in the small village of Tertia with the former claiming that children are raised solely by their biological parents whereas the latter theorizes that the entire village plays a role in education. Karp goes on to attack Field's conclusions ultimately declaring them invalid due to contradictory information uncovered during his own research. However, the attacks made by Karp are based on incomplete information, assumptions, and logical errors which weaken his stance significantly.

First, in his article, Karp claims that the kids interviewed discussed their birth parents greatly. He then uses this increased dialogue about the mother and father to imply that the parents raised the children. Talking about biological parents does not signify that the children have been raised solely by them. There could be many reasons why the interview subjects focused on that topic such as loaded questions from the interviewers or a significant recent occurrence involving the mothers and fathers. Because life in reality and life in the questionnaire can be portrayed and interpreted differently further analysis of the people analyzed and questions posed would have to be considered.

Furthermore, Karp does not indicate the scope of his observational study. It is unknown if the sample he is using to make statements and claims about the entire culture is representative. He could have just looked at a few cases which would qualify his results as without an appropriate sample that reflects the state of the children in Tertia as a whole. If the number of children interviewed was very small then it could be possible that the individuals questioned could be outliers in the analysis. Karp should provide the number of cases in his study and what proportion of the population they make up. This would give his findings more statistical significance and strengthen his results.

Finally, the Implication of interview research being superior to observational study is flawed due to the first conclusion that Field's research is invalid due to the presence of an observational contradiction. The entire logic employed here is quite paradoxical as Karp uses a few data points to attack a form of study centered around collecting data. Ironically, in trying to demonstrate a contridiction in Field's work Karp ends up presenting a contradiction in his own analysis. Frankly, this piece of logic needs to be amended to specify the type of observational study that Field used to differentiate the differences between his study and isolate the two points.

Thus, although Karp conducted his own study which challenged Field previous statement about upbringing in the Tertia village, we cannot follow reject Field's previous analysis. The new experiments conducted might have illuminated new information; however, the logically processes used, omission of critical information, and contradictions present in the analysis require that Karp conduct further refinement of his argument.