Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The idea that correctness of a fact is tantamount to incorrectness of its complementary fact is absurd. The method followed by Dr. Karp cannot be used to conclude that interview-centered method is accurate, for the purpose of obtaining accurate information on Tertial child-rearing practice. It is flawed in multiple, and doesn’t clarify two of the fundamental questions asked below.

Firstly, Validity of Dr. Karp’s observation-centered method is questionable, but is it fair to declare that only interview-centered method is valid for such an experiment? Is it fair to invalidate observation-centered method. Consider an experiment on behavioural studies of honey bees for instance, if Dr. Field’s method of observation was used, it would conclude that honeybees are hardworking peaceful insects. On the contrary, in Dr. Karp’s interview based method, honeybees would come to prick the person disturbing the honeycomb, which would lead Dr. Karp to conclude that honeybees are violent intersects. It is known fact that Dr. Karp has performed an experiment with interview-centered method to land at a conclusion which contradict’s with the conclusion of Dr. Karp, but this information is not sufficient, neither for proving that Dr. Field’s findings were incorrect, nor that Dr. Karp’s observation are correct.

Secondly, is it possible to conduct this behavioural study using some other method? It is evident from the history of classical science, that conclusions are derived from outcomes, and outcomes changes with the experimental approach. When there are more approaches and methods, the are more outcomes and the possibility of deriving an accurate conclusion increases. In this case, there are only two methods mentioned, both giving contradicting outcomes. Had there been few other methods, which gave a similar outcome, say “x-centered” method, then one could easily argue that the outcomes of x-centered method and interview - centered method are in sync, so interview-centered approach could be taken to gather information for future experiments, but this is not the case.

Overall, it is evident that more experiments and results are required to reach any acceptable conclusion. The lack of sufficient information from both Dr. Karp’s and Dr. Field’s experiment leaves us with sufficient mysteries on the behavioural studies of Tertian child-rearing practices. Hence it is not correct to accept interview-centered method as the recommended method for gathering the requisite information for the study.