"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A study performed on 300 men and women from an Advertising firm states that the firms should hire executives who sleep for less than 6 hours, because this factor is assumed to be a factor of firm’s higher profit margins and faster growth. This is based on the based on the data collected from the executives who reported they sleep for no more than 6 hours. But is this study sufficient to conclude that firms must hire people who need less sleep? Let’s clarify the following three assumptions to make judge the given argument.

Firstly, is 300 suitably enough count for a study, in world where the population count is in billions. Making conclusions based on the ideas and practices followed by just 300 people isn’t sufficient. It is as good as concluding that children hate candy, based on opinion of just 2-3 kids. For any study or research to give a correct result, the survey base should be large enough, having more heterogeneity.

Secondly, it is assumed that the overall profit margin and faster progress (hereby referenced as firm’s success) is only dependent on the sleep requirements of its executives. That is, no matter what strategies the firm is following, or what is its plans on advertising, are irrelevant. The only thing relevant is how much sleep are its executives getting. Consider Bill for example, Bill doesn’t work that well, makes mistakes every now and then, but sleeps just 4 hours a day. Is Bill the suitable executive for the firm? I doubt it.

Finally, the study is masking the contributions of employees towards the firm’s success. Sleeping and working are two different aspects of employees daily routine. How is one related to other is questionable, but declaring sleep as the only deciding factor is absurd. If Alex works hard for the company, prepares reports and presentations, runs to the clients and satisfies all the requirements of the candidates, does it matter how many hours he sleeps? The idea here is to acknowledge the hard work people bring to the firm which leads to its success.

Based on the above, it is clear that the study is flawed. Had there been more diverse group of people in study, and better ways to find out the reasons behind the success of firm, the study could have given more relevant and acceptable results. A study involving diverse sets of questions, will help one to gain clearer insights into a firm’s true reasons behind success.