A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A progressing nation is one, having a set of unique individuals with varied mindsets and skills. Today’s student is tomorrow’s citizen, and citizens build the nation. Having said that, it is clear that students should gain the skill sets which are essential to the world. But, if everyone has the same working knowledge about tools and techniques, about art, science or finance, the homogeneity will lead to the end of world. Humans evolved because they had unique mindsets, to learn different things and grow. The given statement, that a students of a nation should study the same curriculum until they enter college, is improper. The given three reason will elaborate on the same.

Firstly, we must respect the interest and individual talent of students. No two individuals are identical. Diversity is encoded in the genes biologically, and we must respect this law of nature. When interests of different students do not match, it is impossible to create a curriculum which satisfies the requirements of all the students. For example, Adam likes to play soccer, and wants to pursue a career in it. Bob likes painter and hopes to see his paintings being exhibited in Loure some day. A curriculum cannot be tailored which satisfied either one’s interests, without imposing additional subjects in it. Hence forcing them to learn something they do not have an interest in. If they are being evaluated on this, then the evaluation isn’t good enough. The results will not focus on their individual development, but will test on how good are they, to take up any given practical challenge in life. Even though this sounds good, it crushes the students to carry the burden all along until they reach college.

Secondly, one must correlate the reason why multiple course choices are given at college level and its significance in school level. College is a place which transforms naive students into professionals and dispense them out to the world. It is a place where students have liberty to choose their own subjects and study it further. But isn’t college a bit too late for taking this decision? Picture this, if Michael Jackson waited to get into an Art/Music College, he perhaps would have given up in between and the world wouldn’t get a great singer. He didn’t wait, for college, for anyone, and just pursued his dream. Which arises a serious question, in world with so many professions, does each profession require a need to gain specialisation only at a college level, or this can be preponed and introduced at basic levels? When introduced in basic levels, students will have more focus on the one thing that they’re interested in, and that way they will gain perfection in whatever stream they pursue their education in.

Lastly, policy makers of the nation must question, what advantages will the ‘homogenous curriculum’ bring to the progress of society? Every year there are about 10 million new kids taking admission into schools. Each kid will undergo the same course for a period of about 10 years until they qualify for an admission into a college. When compared with countries like Japan, where kids have the choice to decide their career at a much younger age, the students of this former country have less of focus, determination (also they totally lack it in some cases). It wouldn’t be incorrect to say that this is an adverse conditions for students, because they’ve almost wasted 10 years studying some courses they wouldn’t be using in future.

To conclude, this topic has more ill effects than pros. Although one can argue that this gives an advantage for students, who are open to a broader set of careers paths in future, I believe that this choice would take away a significant amount of time from their lives. They might even drop-out and skip education. So it is in the best interest of both students and the nation, to allow the student to pursue a career in the stream they like, and study the same from the very basic stages of development.