The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It has been proven using social experiments that positive reinforcement has increased the productivity, while negative reinforcements has lowered it. Keeping this thought in consideration, it can be stated without doubt that positivity attracts more positivity and same is the case with negativity. This principal is valid in all scenarios, let it be coaching on field, running a parliament or teaching. There might be few cons, but there are more pros to the teaching practice given, which are stated in detailed in the below three paragraphs.

Praising positive actions results in good thoughts. According to the Pigmallion method, these good thoughts in turn bring-up better performances (positive actions) in future, and hence the learning cycle grows multifold. For example, Billy is learning how to cook food. When he’s practicing, if his master tastes and praises Billy’s food, it is natural for Billy to feel good, and perform better. On the other hand, if master is not satisfied with the taste, and starts scolding Billy, he might feel bad, which can result in multiple outcomes; maybe he’ll stop cooking, or, Billy might think negatively about his master and have bitter feelings. It is always good to praise a job well done.

Secondly, learners will not know if they’ve learnt something, and that is correct, unless they are given feedback or examined. Without positive feedback, a learner is left with no purpose, resulting in decline of learning curve. If Billy is cooking food, but there is nobody to taste it, Billy will never learn how to cook food. Had there been someone who tasted Billy’s delicacies, and given him a good rating, Billy would know that he’s cooking good. Evaluation and feedbacks are crucial, and essential for learning process.

Even though the teaching approach sounds positive, it doesn’t work the best for some scenarios. The method is not dealing correctly, when someone does a negative action. Ignoring a negative action, leaves a blank in the learning, where the learner could assume the blank (characteristic of action) as “acceptable”, or “not acceptable”, or “neutral”. While praising a positive action helps one learn, teaching someone the impact of negative action is equally necessary. Without the knowledge, the blank in the person’s mind can get corrupted and impede the learning. Take Billy’s food for example; if the taste wasn’t good, or Billy had cooked it incorrectly, making it inedible, a correct lesson would correct Billy’s mistake, on the contrary, an ignorance might promote Billy’s wrong cooking methods. Ignorance can be dangerous.

This teaching methodology is an interesting approach. The method is only partially correct. To make this method perfect for adaptation into teaching techniques, one could fill the void, where one is reacting to negative actions accordingly. Once the method is tweaked and enhanced, then it’ll become the best way to teach: Praise positive actions and correct negative ones.