Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Today’s students are country’s future. They will determine if the country will progress and be ahead in the race of developing nations, or they lose the race. A country will fail to create efficient professionals, if the citizens/students pursue fields of study/careers in which they’re likely to fail. I agree with the idea of institutions dissuading students from choosing a career path and pursuing such fields in which there is nothing but darkness, which is derived from the given three reasons.

Firstly, choice in field of study decides what profession student will enter into. If they fail to gain perfection in their field, it would imply that they’re not the best candidate for the profession. In today’s competitive world, the number of suitable candidates are higher in ratio when compared with the number of open positions and opportunities. If John is interested in nothing but Golf, but tries to apply for a position of banker on the Wall Street, his failure is predictable. If this gap between positions and candidates remains as it is, for a professional with limited strength and proficiency, it becomes harder to survive.

Secondly, there exists a vicious cycle between the student’s interest, and their performance in study. Both gradually descend, and a time might come when the student will prefer to quit. The tendency to fail in one’s choice of study, makes the student lesser interested in it, which in-turn reduces their academic performance and the cycle repeats. When this cycle continues for a prolonged period, the situation will fall apart and the student is highly unlikely to gain anything from the course.

Lastly, students will turn into working professionals who will strengthen the backbone of the country’s economy. When an individual fails to achieve big goals, they simply contribute to the pile of mediocre individuals. This is something the educational institutes must look forward to. One of the main aims of these educational institutes is to create bright and talented students, who go out in the world and bring betterment to the society. Take Sarah for example, if Sara wants to pursue a career in Humanities, and transform the world into a better place for people of all the background, for nature, for everything, she can do it. But this will happen only in an ideal world. In our real and practical world, there exists numerous complexities which Sarah as an individual cannot resolve herself. If they (students) fail to succeed, they’re not bringing any good to the table.

In conclusion, an Institute must push students into field of study in which they’ve a bright career path. One might argue that student’s should pursue courses in which their interests lie, and interests is what makes them happy. But in this world, happiness doesn’t fetch you bread and shelter. Only money can get you those things, and money can be earned effectively when one chooses a career in which there is no failure. So one should only pursue field of subjects in which they’ll not fail.