Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim that the Palean-designed baskets found in Lithos leading to the conclusion that the woven design was not unique to Palea requires more evidence to be rhetorically sound. The assumptions made in the logical leaps and the absence of counter-arguments forms a weak argument.

First, the author assumes that the Brim river is historically just as board and deep as it is now as it was in ancient times. The problem with this assumption is that historically geographical landmarks are shaped by nature and change over time. For example, the ice-bridge that connected present-day Russia and Alaska was theorized to exist in the past allowing for human migration to the Americas but has long since melted away. Based on this phenomenon, it cannot be too unreasonable that the Brim river used to be shallow or narrow allowing the Paleans to exchange goods with the brims without the use of a boat. evidence proving or disproving the static nature of the stream would need to be included before the size justification can be used to rule out the novelty of the baskets.

also, the author also insinuates that because no Palean boats were found, none existed. In other to prove the absence of boats used by Paleans evidence supporting the types of Palean boat making materials at the time would need to be addressed. The Paleans can only be proven to be boat deficient if and only if it was physically impossible for them to build a boat with the materials they had at the time. Otherwise the possibility that they build short-lasting boats still stands and does not rule out the conclusion that they had no boats.

Finally, the counterarguments against 3rd party trades was never discussed or addressed. The claim assumes that the only way the basket could have traveled from the Paleans to the brims was through direct trade; however, if there were a group of third-party traders who visited society to society exchanging goods this would rule out the necessity that the basket had to be obtained first-hand from the Palean people. History of trading posts or aquatic, nomadic merchants would have to be analyzed and considered as their presence would also nullify the conclusion obtained by the argument.

Thus, the argument that the Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean is still rather incomplete and more evidence is required to arrive at a conclusion. The statement omits acknowledgment of critical counter-arguments and makes assumptions regarding the terrain and Palean culture which were unproven given the current amount of evidence.