A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author claims that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be popular and profitable. To support her claim, she cited a recent sales study that consumption of seafood has increased by 30% in Bay City restaurants and points out that there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Also, she assumes that the fact that the major type of families in the city is the two-income family is the cause for high profit and popularity. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, she hastily assumes that the high consumption of seafood will maintain in the future. The previous tendency of consumption could be a unique phenomenon in the city. For example, the residents of the city didn't like fishes or seaweed in the past. After a TV program which tells the good effect of the seafood, people have liked the seafood. However, the favor could be temporary. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Second, based on the nationwide search about the major traits of the two-income family, the author assumes that the two-income families in the city are same as families in the out of the city. There is a possibility that even if the common two-income families like healthy food and are few home cooker, the two-income families in Bay City could like junk food more than slow dishes or like cooking in the home. If she cannot present us a specified survey about the character of the two-income families in the cities, this argument will still not persuasive.

Finally, Even if we admit other problems are true, there remains a critical problem. There is no a guarantee that likeness of the healthy food and dining out is not followed by higher consumption of seafood. For example, the household in the city would like to eat vegetable food than fishes, or even, the families in the city would go to other cities to dine out in more high-quality seafood restaurants.

In conclusion, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more proper, the author has to show us a specified survey that indicated similarity between two-income families in the Bay City and nationwide the families and has to explain why she thinks the popularity of seafood will not change in the future. To evaluate better, she must explain why she thinks the high ratio of two-income families could be a cause of the high consumption of seafood