Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed. Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met

Stating that nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed, this view asserts that using the public resources to improve people's life is proper use rather than to fund artists. In some senses, it is true that because budget of government comes from people's tax, when the officers decide how the budget use, first consideration is people's life. In my point of view, however, considering that more harder people's life is more positively affecting the art can do and that traditional arts have value to be preserved, however people's life is not abundant, it could be right to designate the budget to artists.

Of course, few would disagree that the most important thing that a government have to consider first is that well being of their citizens. Considering many historical examples which shows that the time when the development and popularity of art is most largest is similar with development of economy state, well-being of people's life could be overrode. For example, during middle age, so-called dark age, only few artist could do their work by being funded by wealthy the nobles. However, as average level of life raised in Industrial Revolution time, many artist came to world and as a result, many new kinds of art occurred. This shows that to develop and continue, arts need capitals

However, can we always say that ignoring the art is beneficial? My answer is definitely no. Considering that beautiful music and paintings and video media such soap opera or movies can heal people's scarred mind which result from hard life, giving fund art is as valuable as invest money to infrastructure. For example, in Korea, there was IMF economy crisis. At that time, many people was fired from their companies or, even, their company gone bankruptcy and in this case they could do anything. But, many people such as my father who experienced such dark time says that singers's songs which have message about hope can help the people having power to overcome terrible pain. This shows that art can be as important as good job and wealthy sometimes.

Moreover, considering that some kinds of arts which have been passed down from ancestors is important as itself because of their scholar value or can be important tourism resource, it is important to preserve those old art of a country. For example, many people who come from all around world visit Italy to see Roman style buildings. And the money which the tourists use vastly help Italy's financial states and help raise sales of near shops. If Italy government destroyed those buildings to construct modern-styled buildings, there is no reason many foreign people visit Italy. This shows that importance of preserving old art such as buildings, statues and so on.

To summarize, many people would agree that the most important role of a government is achieving well-being of their citizens. However, considering that art can be or give invisible resources and that traditional art is important as itself but it can be another resource which can help to earn large amount of money. Only foolish people who ignore importance of arts and continuing it claims that art is not valuable