Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Leaders are essential to the success of any enterprise or government. For eg. Mukesh Ambani, has successfully lead Reliance, a telecom company, and dominated the market. The writer claims that for an enterprse to be successful new leadership should replace the existing one every five years. However, I mostly disagree with the author's argument because the new leadership might not always be more capable and effective.

It is necessary that there's a fair opportunity for everyone to be a leader and if the existing leaders are not performing up to the mark, they should be replaced by new ones. Five years time is sufficient for any leadership to show their potential and make a change for the society they live in. Since after five years it is possible that in some scenarios the present leadership has run out of ideas to successfully lead the enterprise, in that case, new leaders need to take up charge.

However in fields such as politics, businesses and education, it's after a long period of time that the true potential of leaders emerges. Consider a government which is working sedulously to make reforms to end poverty and corruption. In democratic countries like India, there are certain procedures which need to be followed before such reforms can be affected. It often takes time to make a change in these cases. Furthurmore, once the law has been enacted, it will take many more years before we start to notice its affect and finally see the situation ameliorating. Similarly, any change in the education system would also take quite a few years to show its affect. Therefore in these situations changing leadership in the middle of the revolutionary process can hinder the progress.

Moreover, it is highly possible that the current leadership is the most efficient one and there's no one more capable to uphold that responsibility. For example, Narendra Modi was re-elected as the Prime Minister of India after serving one five-year term. Although most poeple were not content with Modi's government, in the absence of any other comparable leadership, he was again chosen as the prime minister for another five years. Therefore, changing leadership is only beneficial when there's a more promising leadership in the picture.

To sum up, I'd like to say that author takes it too extreme by claiming that having new leaders would surely lead to success. In many scenarios, some of which discussed above, it's crucial that the government or business stick to the same leadership for success.