The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Walnut Grove town newspaper.

154

"Walnut Grove's town council has advocated switching from EZ Disposal (which has had the

contract for trash collection services in Walnut Grove for the past ten years) to ABC Waste,

because EZ recently raised its monthly fee from $2,000 to $2,500 a month, whereas ABC's fee

is still $2,000. But the town council is mistaken; we should continue using EZ. EZ collects trash

twice a week, while ABC collects only once. Moreover, EZ---which, like ABC, currently has a

fleet of 20 trucks---has ordered additional trucks. Finally, EZ provides exceptional service: 80

percent of respondents to last year's town survey agreed that they were 'satisfied' with EZ's

performance."

This editorial recommends that people of Walnut Grove should switch to ABC Waste from EZ Disposal which has increased its monthly fees by 25 percent for trash collection. But the author is against this decision of the council

stating several reasons to stick to EZ Disposal. To support his argument he mentions that EZ collects garbage twice a week as compared to only once a week by ABC. He also states that EZ has ordered additional trucks for garbage collection.

The author also cites a survey in which 80% of the respondents showed support for EZ and were satisfied with their performance. These arguments might look convincing at first glance but there's no substancial evidence given

to outweigh the the council's decision.

First and foremost, the author does not prove that the number of people who responded to the survey represents thoughts of overall population of the town. It could be possible that only a few number of people took part in the survey

and were co-incidently in favour of EZ Disposal. In the absence of evidence to supoort that survey was taken by majority of the people it is hard to take author's argument seriously.

Moreover even if EZ disposal collects garbade twice a week, there's not guarantee that it is more efficient than ABC Disposal. There could be myriad of reasons as to why council would have advocated to switch to ABC.

For example, the workers at EZ disposal might be taking frequent leaves and due to that people are not able to dispose of their wastes when required. ABC on the other hand might have a record of punctual workers

who might be consistently following all the guidelines into consideration for disposal of the waste. In that case increase in price by EZ would further supports council's recommendation to switch to ABC.

In addition, the author does not mention how many new trucks EZ would be adding to its fleet and are the trucks at both the service providers of comparable efficiency and size. If trucks at ABC are much bigger

and each of them can carry waste materials almost double of what EZ can carry per truck then increasing the fleet size by EZ would not have much impact on its service improvement.

If the author would have given support and proper evidence against the above arguments then it would have been persuasive. But due to lack of evidence his argument is unconvincing as it stands. To make a strong point

he must prove that survey represented opinion of the majority of the town.