The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To be a successful leader one must possess qualities of teamwork, shrewdness and selflessness. The author claims that to prepare the youth for leadership roles in any field they should be taught how to cooperate instead of compete. However, I believe that a right balance of both is necessary to raise successful leaders.

To begin with, in almost every field we require someone who can guide us. For example, consider an IT company. There we have managers and senior leaders who manage their teams and strive for them to be successful. A manager's quotidian job asks for communicating with people on a regular basis. If the manager is apathetic or hostile towards people then this might cause resentment among people and affect the quality of work in a negative way. Hence, the qualities of teamwork and cooperation will be imperative for a manager to be successful.

In constrast, teaching young children to be competitive is also equally important. With increasing population, being distinct from someone has become challenging. For instance, consider the country India where lakhs of students appear for an examination for admission into the nation's prestigious institutes such as the IITs. Since, there are only a couple thousand seats available, if the students are not competitive or significantly better from other students, then they might not be able to score well in the exam. Therefore, instilling a sense of competition among young people is necessary so that they can increase there efforts and work harder to be successful.

However, in my view a combination of both would bring the best out of the young ones. For example, in a classroom, if students are taught to be the best along with helping each other, then this would not only make them proficient in what they do but also make them realise the importance of helping other people. As being a leader involves understanding the challenges of the group that he's leading and solving them, an incisive individual with magnanimous personality would, no doubt, prove to be the best leader.

All in all, I disagree with the author's claim that only instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition among the youth will help them to achieve success as leaders. On the other hand, I think that young children should be taught both the qualities to shape them as leaders in any field.