"Money spent on research is almost always a good investment, even when the results of that

research are controversial."

Solving some first class world problems and remain progressive often requires extensive research. The speaker asserts that money spent on research is always a good investment even when research results are

controversial. I strongly agree with the speaker because of strong arguments in support of his statement.

First and foremost, research always results in better understanding of the world and deep insight into things which can make our lives better. For example consider space exploration and sending man on the moon;

what once deemed impossible has now been done almost ten times successfully all ascribed to the engineering and research. Prior to that many people believed earth to be flat and at the centre of the universe with all other bodies revolving around it but now

it's unequivocally obvious that it's not the case. Research helps to uncover answers to questions left unsolved since thousands of years.

Yet another scenario when research has proved to be helpful is advancement in technology. Our lives are becoming more and more dependent on technology which aids us in many trivial activities saving time and efforts.

For example, smartphones have made it convenient for us to talk to anyone around the world with just a click of button. We can do plethora of other useful activities on our phones for instance calculations, taking pictures, making notes, setting reminders, reading

news and a lot more. Many people reproach this progress in technology as they think that being dependent reduces are critical thinking but they overlook the fact that it mainly assists us in work which doesn't generally require any sophisticated thinking

much of the time. On the contrary making these devices easier to use and more productive involves considerate efforts in thinking, experimenting and implementing.

Also with increasing pollution, there's a dire need to look for efficient and renewable sources of energy which is possible only when research institutions get sufficient funding to keep them functioning. Without money

they would not be able to continue their work into figuring out the sustainable methods to produce energy and avoid pollution at the same time. Therefore in this scenario too money invested in research is fruitful.

From the examples we saw above the benefits of research are quite obvious and I believe more and more money should be dedicated towards research which always bears fruitful results.