money spent on research is almost always a good investment, even when the results of that research are controversial.

I agree with the statement that it's worthwhile to spent money on research, it is just like well invested. The statement unnecessarily extends this word "controversial", as the research may get proper result or not, it must get some information about that particular topic of research.

As I agreed to the statement, research should not required to always get right result, it may get wrong or something worse also, but that leads us some more step to success. Research is also chief means by which we human attempt to satisfy our insatiable appetite for knowledge, and our craving to understand ourselves and the world around us. we can't illogically presume that we can know the result of research before we invest in it.

while we must invest in research irrespective of whether the results might be controversial, at the same time we should be circumspect about the research whose objectives are too vague and whose potential benefits are too speculative. After all, expensive research always carries significant opportunity coasts in terms of how the money should be provided toward addressing society's more immediate problem that do not required research.

secondly, for every new research breakthrough that helps reduce human suffering is another that serves primarily to add to that suffering. for example, while some might argue that physics researchers who harnessed the power of the atom have provided us with an alternative source of energy and invaluable "peace-keepers", this argument flies in the face of hundreds of thousands of innocent people murdered and maimed by atomic blast, and by nuclear melt down. In short, so called "advances" that scientific research has brought about often amount to net losses for humanity.

In sum, the assertion that we should invest in research whose results are "controversial" begs the question, because we can't know whether research will turn out controversial until we've invested in it. As for the broader assertion, i agree that money spent on research is generally a sound investment because it is an investment in the advancement of human knowledge and in human imagination and spirit.