The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex

to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers

complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be.

Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available,

the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the

corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water

pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that

modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside

Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

This letter recommends that in order to increase the profit predominantly, they should have to modified the showerheads in all the buildings of Sunnyside Tower apartment complex. to support this recommendation the owner only predict without any empirical outcomes. The owner also assumed that by applying restriction on showerhead of three buildings of the apartment, the water usage of the whole Sunnyside Tower apartment complex will reduced. According to me this is big fallacy for an argument.

First, the owner have to check out whether the water usage of that particular three buildings is actually decreased or not by modifying the showerheads of that buildings to restrict maximum water flow of one-third of what it used to be. If any considerable reduction in the usage of water was deducted then thy could apply this same restriction in all twelve buildings, and if not then there must be another source available where waste of water could possible except showerheads.

Another question that can be raised is: what is the contribution of water bills in the overall expenses of the

complex? If the water bills contribute to just a fraction of the overall expenses of the complex, then this

assumption fails to gain any favor. This is because if efforts are made to reduce costs in that part of the

budget which already contribute minimally in the expenses, it is highly unlikely that the profits will rise

dramatically. Thus, the owner may want to try and find other amenities that are likely to rise their profits if

used economically.

Also, it can be asked whether any polls were being conducted before taking the decision of modifying the

showerheads? These polls would have asked the residents about their water usage such as whether they use

showers too much or whether their use of water is for other purposes where showers are not used such as

cooking, gardening etc. If this step was taken, it could've given a better idea to the management about the

steps to be taken to save water rather than just doing trials like these showerheads modification.

Thus, the argument put forward by the owner of SunnysideTowers apartment complex about modifying

showerheads stands a lot of scrutiny and answering. If those questions discussed above are not answered, the

assumptions and predictions of the owner are absolutely implausible.