The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil. "Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion said in the argument that "In last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperature, and climate forecasters predict that this weather patterns will continue for several more years, also said that new more homes are being built in the region also." According to me, several more few things that must be specified to predict accurate demand for heating oil in next five years.

Firstly, author said that in heating season, northeastern united states experienced 90 days below-normal temperature. Surveyor must have to specify that how much lower temperature surveyed? If it's much lower than normal temperature then residents necessarily required oil for heating, but if not, then there is no need for heating, because 2 to 3 degrees lower temperature doesn't feel more colder that peoples need heating in all that. So author have to indicate proper number of how much degrees lower temperature surveyed.

Secondly, also climate forecasters predicted that this weather pattern will continue for several more years, how much? If company have to forecast their sales for oil, they needed information of this weather system will continue for 5 or 10 years or a particular rigid number for how much years. otherwise if the this cold weather system will last for just 2 more years, and company planned for 5 years production already, then company will required to store produced oil as produced on prediction, also required to store at proper place where fire vulnerability is much lower otherwise company will have big loss.

Furthermore, author did not provide exact percent or number of how much new houses are being built in this region. More accurate information is necessary for forecasters to predict company's future production. If there are going to built more then fifty percent of houses in that particular region, then prediction will change against just ten percent of increase in number of houses in northeastern united states. As more new houses are being built, company will increase their production, and required proper number or percentage of increasing houses.

The author's contention that oil producing company can safely predict that demand of heating oil for next five year is needed some more accurate and rigid numbers such that increasing houses in that region, measured lower temperature then previous year and that cold weather will continue for how much years. This information required for accurate prediction.