The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author of the above letter has made a very loose connection between the facts stated in the letter. There are certainly many flaws in this letter which forces us to think whether the reason stated in the above letter actually do make sense.

First of all the author said that the population of Balmer increases to a 100,000 in summer. He has given no statistics that state that what was the previous population of Balmer or by how much does this population increase? Without knowing the previous population of Balmer an exact estimation of the current population increase of the town cannot be made. Also we do not know that every summer the population increases to a 100,000. It could be lesser one year or more the other year.

He also states that in order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies should be reduced from 50 per day to 25 per day. There is again no statistics which shows that reducing the number of mopeds to 50 percent will reduce the accidents by 50 percent. Nowhere in the passage has the author stated that reducing the mopeds by 50 percent is directly proportional to the accidents and will help in reducing the number of accidents by 50 percent in the town of Balmer. Also what about the people who own mopeds? We also do not know that whether these accidents were caused by the people who owned mopeds or by those who rented them.

The author has made a comparison of Balmer Island to Seaville island. But we do not know the population in Seaville Island. Also the decision of Seaville's town council to reduce the moped rentals to 50 percent cannot be compared to Balmer Island's since we neither know the population nor are we sure about the exact number of moped users in both the islands. We also do not know how popular moped transportation was in Seavillle Islands. There is a possibility that moped transportation was more popular in Seaville than at Balmer or vice versa. Therefore the estimation of mopeds in Balmer based on Seaville was a bit obscure and cryptic.

In order to be more clear and specific the author should have told us the exact number of moped users in both the islands. Also in order to make a comparison between the two island the exact population of both the towns should have been mentioned. Also he should have stated whether moped transportation in Seaville was as popular or more popular in Balmer. If all these facts would have been taken care of it would have greatly increased the value of the letter and helped in further understanding of the relation between moped accidents and the population increase in the island of Balmer.