The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The author of the letter argues that moped accidents have increased in Balmer island during the summer months. He also claims that reducing rental mopeds can reduce these accidents to 50% based on the system adopted by Seaville. However,

there is no strong evidence and argument is open to further debate.

The author claimed that Seaville reduced the number of rental mopeds which resulted in fewer accidents. The author failed to consider other factors responsible for the downfall of moped accidents. For example, Seaville might have developed different paths for bicycles and mopeds, the footpath might be at a considerable distance from the road, the tourists were educated about the rules and regulations before renting a moped, etc. The number of tourists in Seaville might be less which resulted in fewer accidents. The author also fails to consider the environmental condition of Balmer and Seaville. Balmer might have more slopes and must have more ups and downs which in turn results in more accidents.

The author must provide a survey regarding the number of tourists involved in accidents versus the number of residents involved in accidents. It is possible that reducing the number of rental mopeds will not reduce the number of accidents if resident mopeds are involved in these accidents. Reducing the number of mopeds rented may result in increased pedestrians on the road which again may increase the probability of accidents. As there is no strong evidence the author's

the argument is open to more debate.

The author must provide strong evidence like a survey showing the number of rental mopeds involved in accidents, geographical conditions of Balmer and Seaville, etc. Thus the argument does not have enough evidence and is weak.