We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

The board of directors of the Monarch Books recommends opening a cafe in its store to compete with Regal books who have implemented the same idea. The reason behind the recommendations are vague and needs a more elaborative explanation of the reason to make argument persuasive.

The author believes that the book store is at the same place for many years and has copious customers which will benefit the cafe' to make profits and stay in the competition. However, Monarch Books is known for a variety of books and has a huge customer base because of this paramount feature of the store. There is a strong possibility that a vast percentage of customers are not fond of visiting entertaining places like a cafe and thus can harm the idea of opening a cafe. The author should run a survey among these customers about their interest in visiting a cafe to bolster his claim and make cafe operate successfully. In the race to gain success author also neglects the fact about the cafe in their surrounding and there fame amongst the people. It is widely possible that premises of Monarch Books may have an old and famous cafe which will be given first preference the new cafe opened by Monarch Books. The author, therefore, should provide more details regarding the cafe and their popularity amongst the people to make the argument convincing.

On the other hand, the author also recommends to clear off the children's section to vacate the place for building a cafe ignoring the effects of the action. Based on the recent census the author believes a reduction in children's population nationwide in the coming years but he fails to highlight the importance of children's section on the profit of the Monarch Books. There is a strong possibility that the major percentage of the profit of Monarch Books is accumulated by the sale of children's books and thus demolishing that section can have a substantial effect on profit for the coming years. It is also possible that the parents visiting along the kids will buy a few books and increases the number of customers of Monarch Books which will make it more popular. Hence, removing the children's section can reduce the number of customers in the coming years.

The author's interest in developing the cafe is because of competition with Regal Books cafe but the author fails to mention the details about the trends of profit for Regal Books before and after developing the cafe. The author should learn about the trends of Regal Books to make his argument more persuasive.

Conclusively, In order to compete with other book stores, the author tries to demolish the children's section to build a cafe but fails to consider customers interest in a cafe, children's section contribution to the cafe, popularity of other cafe's in the premises and trends of other book stores who have developed a cafe.